How Can I Be More Focused?

Let me ask you a couple of questions: Do you know how to focus? Have you ever been told to focus?Have you ever been taught how to focus?

Well, If you answer yes to at least one of the questions you probably are like me and millions of human beings around the world. When I was a child I found it so difficult to keep my attention span for more than, let’s say 30 seconds at the time! It was so tough for me to learn how to read. My mom had the patience of a saint when she was trying to teach me the simple technique of letters coming together to form words. If this happened today I’d probably be diagnosed with ADHD and filled with pills. It wasn’t until a few years later that I realized that I didn’t know how to focus, how to concentrate and how to give or take away my focus. I only realized how to use my focus and my attention when I started to meditate! That was the moment when I understood what was going on in my mind when I loose my focus and how to put it back again.

So a couple month ago I saw a TEDx talk with Dandapani where he stated precisely that. During all of our lives, we are told to be focused despite the fact that we aren’t taught how to do that.

The first step to increasing your focus is to create awareness. How would you do that?
Simple as Breathing.

Meditation is a form of ruling your mind or raise awareness towards your conscious and while doing that, you start reprogramming your mind and start to acknowledge how your mind works without judgment and without becoming identified with your thoughts.
All you have to do is breathe in and out. Inhale and exhale in a calm and even way.
You can count if you’d like! Within a few moments, your thoughts will start to wander. As soon as you notice that your attention drifted away, calmly and without being judgmental bring your attention back to your breathing process. Don’t ignore distractions. Remember that your job is to notice that your mind has wandered and bring it back again. This is the point where you train your focus.This is the point where you train your mind to be guided to wherever that you might be doing. From this point onwards you have to practice!
Practice it every day! The more you practice it, the easier it will become!

Practice your focus with Dandapani:

 

 

Why you Should Meditate Right now!

Motivational Video – Get Ready to Start your Week!

2 Simple Scientifically proven ways to increase Happiness

How to reduce stress and start living your life – 5 easy techniques

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

