How to reduce stress and start living your life – 5 easy techniques

Ok Ok… you can relax now! You are worthy!

Let’s stop now the “Busy Culture”as a status symbol!
You, as much as anyone else, deserves to relax. You deserve to be happy!
Going to a SPA can be a great idea but the real change starts in you!
And don’t get me wrong this tips won’t make you less productive, you will work better, not more, better!

A few years back I was working about 80 or 90 hours a week and every day was pedal to the medal. “I can take this!” or “It’s just a phase”… i was way wrong! The truth was, I wasn’t going anywhere and my work was starting to get affected by it. I never rested. Never! Not even when I got home at night. There was always an email to answer, a choreography to learn, lots and lots of trainings to get ready for the next day. I was at my limit!

Many times I have thought about quitting and maybe book a one way ticket to the Micronesia Islands and maybe never get back!

The thing was, even if I go someplace else, my mind will be the same as here, so if I am not happy here, well maybe I won’t  be happy there, and my everyday life issues will stay here waiting for me. That’s when something stroke me, I must get my mind at ease. This was it! This was my way. Over the next few weeks I investigated what could be the better process to balance my life and get rid of stress and the overtraining that was pumping strong and prevented me from being happy.

So here are 5 easy techniques that will help you reduce stress and start living your life:

1- Meditation

With just a few minutes of practice a day you will help you rule your mind and gain control of your emotions and trains of thought.

“Research suggests that daily meditation may alter the brain’s neural pathways, making you more resilient to stress,” says psychologist Robbie Maller Hartman, PhD, a Chicago health and wellness coach.

It’s simple. Go to some place quiet. Sit up straight with both feet on the floor. Close your eyes. Focus your attention on your breathing process, you may place one hand on your belly to help you  with your breaths. Let any distracting thoughts float by like clouds. Remember that you are not there to judge your thought. When you realize that your focus drifted away from you breath, gently and slowly bring it back again.
“Deep breathing counters the effects of stress by slowing the heart rate and lowering blood pressure,” psychologist Judith Tutin, PhD, says. She’s a certified life coach in Rome, GA.

Why you Should Meditate Right now!

2 – Be present, raise awareness

When was the last time that you look to your behavior with awareness? Notice the way that the wind hits your face when you are walking , notice the way that piece of chocolate melts on your mouth. Take some time and savor things, enjoy, have fun!

When you spend time in the moment and focus on your senses, you should feel less tense.

3 – Create free technology zones (yes, your cell phone too!)

A free technology zone is a place in your home or work place where you aren’t aloud to use your cell phone, or your tablet or your laptop. In my case was my room. Feel free to have some time not to answer emails, not to upload that kitty photo on instagram. Create some quality time all by yourself.

4 – Do some exercise

Physical activities releases endorphins to your brain. These endorphins interact with the receptors in your brain that cut your perception of pain. Improved self-esteem is a key psychological benefit of regular physical activity. When you exercise, your body releases chemicals called endorphins. These endorphins interact with the receptors in your brain that cut your perception of pain. Endorphins also trigger a positive feeling in the body, similar to that of morphine. For example, the feeling that follows a run or workout is often described as “euphoric.” That feeling, known as a “runner’s high,” can be accompanied by a positive and energizing outlook on life.

Get ready to start working out today!

5 – Be grateful!

Have you ever heard about ‘Gratitude Jornals’?

A gratitude journal is a small notebook where you write everything that you are grateful for.
A sunny day, being healthy and be loved are a few examples of things that you might write in your gratitude journal.

Whenever  you start feeling stressed, spend a few minutes looking through your notes to remind yourself what really matters.

“Being grateful for your blessings cancels out negative thoughts and worries,” says Joni Emmerling, a wellness coach in Greenville, NC.

These were the tips I used to overturn the direction that my life was having.

2 Simple Scientifically proven ways to increase Happiness

Do you know about other techniques? Please share it with me on the comment box!

Leave a Reply

